Skip to main content
Back to timeline
OpenAISource publication:

OpenAI Academy reports over 250 events and 4 million people reached in two years, and pilots a community trainer program

Synopsis

OpenAI reviews two years of its Academy since its September 2024 launch: it has hosted more than 250 events, reached more than 4 million people with Academy content, introduced new learning paths for knowledge workers, developers, leaders, educators, and college students, and is piloting a community trainer program in which partner staff learn the curriculum and lead practical workshops.

AI-generated editorial illustration: Two years of OpenAI Academy

Interpretation

Since launching in September 2024, OpenAI Academy has hosted more than 250 events, and more than 4 million people have engaged with Academy content, bringing together educators, small business owners, developers, nonprofit leaders, and community members. This is the first two-year public accounting of the Academy's event scale and reach, consolidating previously separate courses, guides, in-person workshops, and multi-site events into one measurable program narrative. Based on self-reported cumulative figures in the text (more than 250 events, more than 4 million people); no third-party verification or itemized breakdown is provided.

The Academy added new learning paths for knowledge workers, developers, leaders, educators, and college students, letting learners take role-relevant courses and earn Academy course badges by passing assessments. Compared with the initial focus on developers and mission-driven organizations, the course structure now layers by professional role and introduces assessments and badges as markers of learning outcomes. The text states that learning paths and badges exist and that badges are earned by passing assessments, but gives no course counts, completion rates, or assessment criteria.

OpenAI is piloting the Academy Community Trainer Program, in which participating organizations nominate staff to learn the curriculum and how to guide a practical workshop, completing training and a facilitation assessment before leading Academy sessions. This shifts from the organization delivering training directly to local partner staff delivering it, with the goal of making training and ongoing support available closer to where people live and work. The text describes process steps such as nomination, training, and facilitation assessment, but pilot scale, number of participating organizations, and outcome data are not disclosed.

Across hundreds of events, the program reports that the most valuable part of its training is giving people dedicated time and space to try AI tools on work that matters to them, learn from peers, and get coaching and support from OpenAI mentors. This experiential observation shifts the emphasis from content delivery toward hands-on practice and peer learning, and serves as the basis for extending the approach with partners. A self-reported summary based on event experience; no controlled design or quantitative measures are offered to support the conclusion.

Perspective

The article is aimed at organizations and individuals interested in AI skills diffusion and community training. It describes how the Academy has expanded from an initial focus on developers and mission-driven organizations into a system that includes self-paced courses, practical guides, in-person workshops, and large multi-site AI Skills Jams, plus new role-based learning paths and badges. Its community trainer pilot targets partner organizations such as schools, workforce organizations, small-business networks, and community groups, whose nominated staff complete training and a facilitation assessment before leading sessions, with the goal of making training and ongoing support available closer to where people live and work. The AI Skills Jam for K-12 Educators, which brought together more than 1,600 teachers, administrators, and district leaders across eight U.S. cities, serves as an example of the model for a specific audience and setting.

The text does not disclose the pilot's scale, the number of participating organizations, or the number of trainers, nor does it provide completion rates, badge attainment, or evidence on how training affects participants' actual AI use, making replicability and effectiveness hard to judge. The cumulative figures (more than 250 events, more than 4 million people) are self-reported, without itemized detail or independent verification. In addition, the examples of educators, small business owners, and developers illustrate use scenarios rather than measuring actual outcomes. Readers interested in whether the training truly changes participants' skills and confidence will need to wait for later evaluation information.

Sources